Skip to main content

Maine Private Investigators’ Insurance Required

The Maine Legislature now requires the state’s private investigators to have insurance coverage in addition to the mandatory private investigator bond.

Private investigators in Maine must provide to their chiefs proof of insurance each year. The minimum coverage includes $10,000 in property damages, $100,000 for injury or death of a person, and $200,000 for injury or death of more than one person.

The insurance company must be authorized to do business in Maine.

For more information, contact Greg Magnus at E. R. Munro and Company 877-376-8676, or E-mail Greg at [email protected]. You can also visit our Private Investigator Liability.